2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
    Jun 18, 2019  
2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Graduate Studies


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs

In June of 2008, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges met and voted to award membership at Level III for Louisiana College to offer a Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) degree. This was a historic moment as the MAT is the first graduate level degree program in the over 100-year history of Louisiana College.

Graduate Admission Policy and Requirements

Applicants for admission to graduate study should hold a bachelor’s degrees from educational institutions accredited by the appropriate regional accrediting agencies. Admission may be regular, certificate only, or as non-degree student.

Even though one may be accepted as a graduate student, the applicant may be required to take additional undergraduate courses if lacking any of the undergraduate prerequisites. International students must meet additional requirements. Satisfaction of the specified educational prerequisites does not guarantee an applicant’s admission to post baccalaureate study at Louisiana College. In evaluating applicants, the College will make an effort to consider all relevant aspects of the applicant’s record and suitability for graduate study at Louisiana College.

In compliance with federal law, including provisions of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Louisiana College does not illegally discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, age, disability, or military service in admissions, in the administration of its education policies, programs, and activities or in employment. Under federal law, the College may exercise religion preferences in employment in order to fulfill its mission and purpose. The College reserves the right to deny admission to any applicant or to forbid any student’s continued enrollment without assigning reason theretofore. It also reserves the right to change any of its regulations, charges, rules, and courses without notice, and to make such changes applicable thenceforth, not only to new students but also to students already registered and enrolled.

Master of Arts in Teaching and Alternative Path to Certification

All policies and procedures in the Graduate Manual relate to the Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) degree and to the Graduate Degree Programs.

Alternative Certification- (TEACH Program)

The requirements for alternative certification has been established and approved by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) in compliance with the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) standards. Upon application for admission as a non-degree seeking student, candidates will have transcripts evaluated for admission into an appropriate alternate certification program. All requirements for entrance and exit of portals shall be met before any recommendation for certification shall be forthcoming through the School of Education.

The Teach Program requires candidates to meet the coursework requirements and follow the program structure listed below:

  1. 9-12 hrs. (6-7 week Intensive summer semester)
  2. Two 3 hr. Methodology seminars in the spring and fall semesters.
  3. Must secure a full time teaching position in ones area of certification for the fall and spring semesters.
  4. Successful completion of two 3 hr. Practitioner Teacher Internships in the fall and spring semesters where a mentor is assigned.
  5. Reading Requirements: Candidates are required to demonstrate proficiency in the reading competencies as adopted by BESE through one of the following options:
    1. successfully complete same number of semester hours in reading as required for undergraduate teacher preparation programs;
    2. pass a PRAXIS Teaching Reading Exam (Exception: Middle grades 4-8 and secondary grades 6-12 will be required to take the required reading course credit hours or equivalent contact hours until an appropriate reading competency assessment is developed and adopted.)
  6. Total hours required in the Teacher Certification Program: 21-27 credit hours with passing grades of “C” or better; not to exceed two “C”s during the program.
  7. Program requirements must be met within three years. A Practitioner License or PL 1 must be applied for during the fall semester immediately following the summer semester.

Certification-Only Program

Candidates admitted to the former Non-Masters/Certification Only program prior to July 1, 2010, must complete program requirements by July 1, 2013. Please see the catalog for the year you enrolled in the program. The following reflects new guidelines established by the Louisiana Department of Education effective July 1, 2010.

Louisiana College offers a Certification-Only Program for certification in Grades 1-5, 6-12, All-Level K-12 (art, health and physical education, and music). This program is designed to serve candidates who may not elect participation in or be eligible for certification under the Certification Only Program. Coursework is at the undergraduate level.

The Certification-Only Program requires candidates to meet the coursework requirements and follow the program structure listed below:

  1. Classroom Readiness Training: Eighty contact hours of classroom readiness training will focus on instructional design and delivery as well as classroom environment and classroom management. Candidates will be provided with professional guidance, support and opportunities to observe classroom teachers. Qualifications for meeting 80 contact hours: 6 prescribed hours of coursework, or one semester / 1 year successful teaching experience in certification area.
  2. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning Environment: 12 hours or equivalent contact hours. All courses/contact hours for regular education will integrate effective teaching components, content standards, technology, reading, and portfolio development. Field-based experiences will be embedded in each course or contact hour.
  3. Methodology and Teaching: Six semester hours or equivalent contact hours of content-specific methods courses and field/clinical experiences.
  4. Reading Requirements: Candidates are required to demonstrate proficiency in the reading competencies as adopted by BESE through one of the following options:
    1. successfully complete same number of semester hours in reading as required for undergraduate teacher preparation programs;
    2. pass a PRAXIS Teaching Reading Exam (Exception: Middle grades 4-8 and secondary grades 6-12 will be required to take the required reading course credit hours or equivalent contact hours until an appropriate reading competency assessment is developed and adopted.)
  5. Internship or Student Teaching―six hours (includes participant-oriented methodology seminars). Note: If the candidate has accumulated three years of successful teaching experience in an approved Louisiana school in the area of certification, the candidate may substitute the three years of successful teaching experience for the required internship or student teaching portion of the program.
  6. Mentoring and Support: Participants will receive content and/or pedagogy support during the school year through small group seminar meetings. The support will be provided by a master teacher who has experience teaching in the same or similar content area and grade level. The master teacher should focus on student achievement and instructional strategies with the program candidate. The master teacher can give the candidate one-on-one support and offer specific ways that the teacher can improve instruction techniques.
  7. Total hours required in the Certification-Only Program: 27-33 credit hours or equivalent contact hours (405-495). Program requirements must be met within three years.

Certification Licensure Requirements

  1. Practitioner License (PL2)―A program candidate that is hired as a full-time teacher in an approved Louisiana school will be issued a Practitioner License 2. This license is issued at the request of the Louisiana employing school system for a specific grade level and content area once successful completion of the classroom readiness component has been verified. The teacher is restricted to the specific grade level and content area as designated on the Practitioner License 2.
  2. Standard Professional License―a standard Level certificate may be issued after the applicant has:
    1. completed all program requirements with a 2.50 or higher GPA (this applies to candidates in a university program);
    2. passed the pedagogy examination (Praxis PLT) for grade level;
    3. completed all requirements of the certification-only alternative certification path as verified to the Louisiana Department of Education by the program provider.

Masters of Arts in Teaching Degree (MAT)

All courses must be satisfactorily completed with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on graduate work. Candidates must complete the 33 credit hours with no more than 9 semester hours of graduate course work with a grade of “C” or lower. If a candidate should exhibit unsatisfactory progress through the program, he/she will be directed to meet with a committee appointed by the Director of the MAT program to determine if progress through the program can be continued. The MAT Director will appoint a five-member committee to review any grievances or complaints concerning academic progression through the program, as well as concerns of faculty*. This will include working with any student placed on probation due to earning a second “C.” At any time during the articulation process, earning of a “D” or “F” in any course may be cause for recommendation for immediate dismissal from the program.

Completion Requirements:

All 33 hours will be within the Master of Arts in Teaching degree with no electives. The 33 hours include:

9-15 hours of course work in knowledge of the learning and learning environment,
9-12 hours in methodology and teaching,
6-12 hours in clinical experiences.

All certifying candidates must successfully complete the Praxis Pedagogy as follows:

Early Childhood Pre-K- 3: Principles of Learning & Teaching (PLT) Pre-K -3 (0621 or 5621)
Elementary 1-5: Principles of Learning & Teaching (PLT) K-6 (0622 or 5622)
Middle School 4-8: Principal of Learning & Teaching (PLT) 4-8 (0623 or 5623)
Secondary 6-12: Principles of Learning & Teaching (PLT) 7-12 (0624 or 5624)
Special Education-Mild/Moderate 1-12: Education of Exceptional Students: Core Knowledge and Mild Moderate Applications (0543 or 5543)
Note: Candidates from states other than Louisiana may substitute their state’s equivalent exam.

Educational Leadership- (Add-On Certification)

The Alternative Path for Educational Leader Level 1 is a certification pathway that makes available up to 39 hours to address identified deficiencies for individuals. The program assures that individuals who complete the program have documented evidence of skills that meet all standards required by Louisiana Board of Education to attain an Alternative Path Educational Leader Certificate Level 1

The certification pathway is individualized. Candidates will progress through the training at their own pace. To create an individualized prescriptive plan, courses will be substituted or satisfied via graduate transcript, professional experiences, and/or work experiences. Courses will be sequenced strategically so that candidates will experience a common-sense flow of materials and information. Courses will include many discussions where candidates can share experiences and thoughts. The professors will teach several courses for the certification pathway and will get to know the candidates on a personal level.

The Alternative Path for Educational Leader Level 1 builds on the successful post-baccalaureate program already in place. A holistic approach to educational leadership training is emphasized in the course progression. Each course considers real world applications educational leaders routinely face. As class sizes will be small, each candidate can build an intimate and trusting rapport with their classmates and professors. Courses will be sequenced strategically so that candidates will experience a common-sense flow of materials and information.

Class discussions, case studies, lectures from experts and ample clinical experiences will be the primary mode of training. Text books will be utilized to supplement and enhance the courses. They may provide the structure and reinforce the research-based nature of the training, but each book serves to support and validate real experiences of the professors and guest speakers. Every professor and guest speaker will have expert and intimate knowledge of the subject matter they present. All of the professors and guest speakers will have leadership experience and an overwhelming majority will have served as a principal and/or a district superintendent. Our goal is to allow the most effective leaders from across the country an opportunity to share best practices with our candidates.

Application Procedure for Graduate School

Each applicant for admission must file with the Louisiana College School of Education Office a complete dossier consisting of the following:

  1. Application for admission.
  2. An application and electronic portfolio fee (non-refundable; must accompany application).
  3. Two (2) copies of all the official transcript(s) from all previous collegiate work (Associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s, doctorate), and any transferable graduate credit.

Official transcripts are:

  1. Electronic or E-Scripts are accepted if sent by the respective Universities to: education@lacollege.edu
  2. Those mailed from the college or university directly to the Department of School of Education, Louisiana College, L.C. Box 585, 1140 College Drive, Pineville, LA 71359; those brought by applicant, relative, etc. or marked “issued to student” are not considered official.
  3. Transcripts from international institutions and universities must be reviewed before application for admission is considered.
  1. A cumulative Grade Point Average ≥ 2.2/4.0
  2. Praxis I: Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading, Writing, Mathematics passing scores or exemption based on an ACT composite score ≥ 22, an SAT combined verbal/quantitative score ≥ 1030, or an earned Master’s degree or be highly qualified to teach.
  3. Passing score on the Praxis II: Subject Assessments, and submit official scores or be highly qualified to teach.
  • Candidates seeking certification in Elementary Education (Grades 1-5) must pass Elementary Education: Content Knowledge: Check with Education Department for correct PRAXIS exam number. 
  • Candidates seeking certification in Middle School core subjects must pass PRAXIS II Subject Assessments: PRAXIS EXAM #
  • Candidates seeking certification in Secondary Education Subjects (Grades 6 -12) or Art, Music, or Health & Physical Education (K-12) must pass:
  • Candidates seeking certification in Special Education Mild/Moderate must pass Elementary Education: Content Knowledge), Middle School Education or Secondary core subject area and possibly Teaching Reading: Check with Education Department for correct PRAXIS exam number.
  1. Letter of Intent for employment (for alt. certification) (or current teaching contract copy) unless seeking student teaching in lieu of Internship
  2. Two letters of recommendation
  3. Completion of Portal Questions
  4. Resume with 3 References

Students with Disabilities

A student that qualifies under the Americans with Disabilities Act or Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and who desires modifications or accommodations should contact the Director of the Program to Assist Student Success at 318-487-7629 for information and guidance.

All Applicants

Regular Admission

For regular admission an applicant must present an undergraduate record from a regionally accredited college or university that shows a grade point average of at least 2.20 of a possible 4.0 on all undergraduate work presented from the baccalaureate degree or graduate work combined for Alternative Certification Admission. A 2.5 is required for MAT Admission on all undergraduate work. (See program description for deviations from this general requirement.)

Students Holding Undergraduate Degrees from Non-Regionally Accredited Institutions

Applicants graduating from unaccredited institutions must submit an acceptable licensure test score (PRAXIS) and achieve good academic standing after 12 hours of graduate work for admission.

Admission as Post Baccalaureate, Alternative Path to Certification

Candidates already enrolled in a post baccalaureate program and who apply for the MAT will be referred to the committee appointed by the Director to be considered for entry into the MAT. Failure to complete the portal requirements for the master’s degree within the first 21 hours will negate their ability to continue in the full master’s program. These students will continue in the “Non-Degree Seeking” status until all qualifying paperwork is received. Those not admitted into the MAT will have the option of seeking certification only or dropping out the program.

Undergraduates Receiving Graduate Credit

A Louisiana College undergraduate who needs no more than 9 hours in one semester to complete all of the requirements for a bachelor’s degree may be allowed to register for graduate work and credit provided all undergraduate work will have been completed during that semester and the total in that semester does not exceed 15 semester hours. The permission of the student’s advisor, department chair, and the Vice President for Academic Affairs must be obtained before registration. The admission to the graduate program is conditional until the student receives the undergraduate degree.

Academic Transcripts

All requests for transcripts of Louisiana College credits must be completed on the portal or made in writing to the Office of the Registrar; minimal cost is incurred. Transcripts of credits will not be issued for those whose accounts have unpaid balances. Transcripts will not be mailed for any student who has not been officially admitted for graduate study.

An unofficial transcript can be printed directly from the student portal since it will not include the seal; if mailed to the student, it will be stamped Issued to Student. E-mail requests are not accepted.

Please address your request to Office of the Registrar, 1140 College Drive, Pineville, LA 71359, or Fax: 318.487.7444.

Please note that transcripts from other colleges or universities sent to the School of Education Office for use as permanent records cannot be copied for student use. Additional copies of these documents for personal use must be obtained directly from institutions previously attended. Please make sure official transcript requests are sent to Louisiana College, School of Education, P.O. Box 585, Pineville, LA 71359.

Readmission

Graduate students who plan to re-enter (after missing a semester, summer session, or longer length of time) should contact the School of Education Office for an application for readmission three weeks before registration. A student readmitted after an interruption of more than two years in the course of study at Louisiana College may, at the discretion of the College, be required to fulfill the graduation requirements in the catalog in force at the time of readmission. Students who change degree programs assume responsibility for meeting all prerequisite and degree requirements for the degree to which they are changing as established by the Graduate Manual in use at the time the change is requested. Students placed on academic suspension must first file a written appeal with the Graduate Council for reinstatement and then update their application form for readmission.

Policies Governing Finances

The Business Office is located in Alexandria Hall, Room 148

The college enforces its financial policies in order to maintain a fair, consistent and sound business relationship. Prior to enrolling at Louisiana College students should determine that they are able to fulfill these financial obligations.

Students who are unable to meet their financial obligations will be withdrawn from all classes.

Additionally, they will not be able to register for any upcoming semesters, view or receive grades, or receive transcripts.

Financial Aid

All matters concerning financial aid are under the Director of Financial Aid whose office is located in the Admissions Office in Alexandria Hall. The amount of aid awarded a student is based on either scholarship or financial need. Aid is offered under the categories described below.

Federal Student Aid

Students wishing to be awarded federal student aid must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Louisiana College should be designated as a recipient of FAFSA data. The FAFSA may be obtained from the Louisiana College Admissions Office. The FAFSA may also be completed on the internet at www.fafsa.ed.gov.

Be aware that financial aid awards are limited by provisions of admission. Failing to remove provisional admission requirements within one year will impact your federal financial aid eligibility. Contact the Office of Financial Aid for current guidelines.

Receiving and Maintaining Financial Assistance

Students should be aware that admission status (provisional, regular, alternative certification) determines federal financial aid eligibility and amounts students are eligible to receive. Provisionally admitted students have one year to remove stated provisions to remain eligible to receive federal financial aid. Non-degree students are not eligible for federal financial aid. Contact the Office of Financial Aid for current guidelines.

Students on academic probation will be eligible to receive financial assistance for the first semester on academic probation, and they will be eligible to receive financial assistance for the second semester provided substantial academic progress was made during the first semester.

Students who are denied financial assistance due to unsatisfactory academic progress have the right to appeal the denial. Students should place in writing the request to appeal to the Admissions Committee.

School of Education Assistance for College and Higher Education TEACH Grant

The TEACH Grant program provides grants to students who are completing, or plan to complete coursework needed to begin a career in teaching and agrees to teach for at least four complete academic years in a high need field at an elementary school, secondary school, or educational service agency that serves students from low-income families. For additional information, Pam Skluzacek, Assistant Director of Financial Aid, may be contacted.

Payment Policy:

Payment in full is required at the time of registration. Anticipated financial aid will be considered if the student has completed all necessary actions required to qualify for and receive aid.

Accepted forms of payment include: Cash, Check, Money Order, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express

Payment Plan: Louisiana College has partnered with Sallie Mae to provide students with the option of paying their tuition in monthly installments thru TuitionPay. Students must enroll in the plan prior to registration. Enroll on-line at www.TuitionPayEnroll.com or by phone at (800) 635-0120. Information is also available through the Business Office and the Financial Aid Office. TuitionPay is the only payment plan accepted by Louisiana College.

NSF Checks: A fee of $20 plus bank charges will be assessed for handling each NSF check. Check writing privileges will be denied anyone who has written more than one NSF check to the college. Tuition payments returned NSF will result in the immediate withdrawal of the student from all classes.

All questions about outside financial assistance should be directed to the Business Office at (318) 487-7452.

Refund upon Withdrawal from Louisiana College

Students wishing to withdraw from a program must officially withdraw from the college. No withdrawal is official unless it is made through the Office of Academic Affairs, the Registrar’s Office, the Financial Aid Office, and the Business Office. To begin the resignation process, the student should obtain a resignation form from the Registrar’s Office. Once the form has been completed and signed by the required offices, the form should be returned to the Registrar’s Office. The refund schedule with appropriate dates and percentages will be available upon request at the beginning of each term.

Title IV federal student aid funds are awarded to a student under the assumption that the student will attend school for the entire period for which the assistance is awarded. When a student withdraws, the student may no longer be eligible for the full amount of Title IV funds originally awarded.

If a recipient of Title IV grant or loan funds withdraws or ceases attendance prior to the 60% point of the period of enrollment, a pro-rata schedule is used to determine the amount of Title IV funds the student has earned at the time of withdrawal. If the amount disbursed to the student is greater than the amount the student earned, the unearned funds must be returned to the Title IV programs. The student will be responsible for any unpaid balance of charges created by the return of Title IV funds.

Academic Information

Admission to Degree Candidacy

All requirements for degree candidacy should be completed when a student has earned 12 hours of graduate work and must be completed before the student receives credit for more than 18 hours of work toward a degree. The Registrar’s Office notifies eligible student by letter.

To be eligible for admission to candidacy for a graduate degree, a student must:

  1. Have satisfied all requirements for regular admission to graduate study.
  2. Have satisfactorily completed a minimum of 12 semester hours of graduate work at Louisiana College. Satisfactory completion is interpreted as having a B average on all graduate work pursued (3.0 GPA). Individual departments may have additional requirements for admission to candidacy. Please consult the appropriate catalog section describing requirements for the specific degree you seek.
  3. Have on file in the Registrar’s Office a record of an acceptable score from the PRAXIS Series; PPST, or National Teacher Examination Core Battery as required by the degree program.
  4. Residence Requirements
    The Louisiana College MAT has no residency requirements.
Degree Plan of Study

A Degree Plan of Study will be given to all students by the School of Education to assist the student in planning an academic program and following a curriculum sheet.

Pre-Baccalaureate, Non-degree: one who does not have a bachelor’s degree and is not working toward a degree at Louisiana College. Eligible to take any undergraduate course for which the student is qualified.

Post-Baccalaureate, Non-degree: one who already holds a bachelor’s degree and is not working toward a degree at Louisiana College and/or who is eligible to take any graduate or undergraduate course for which the student is qualified as determined by the department concerned.

Full-Time Graduate Student

One must be enrolled for a minimum of five semester hours or the maximum number of hours offered by the program per semester to be classified as a full-time graduate student during a regular semester. International students (F-l) must maintain full-time enrollment while pursuing their degree in compliance with Immigration and Naturalization regulations. In summer school a graduate student who is enrolled for a minimum of six semester hours across a full summer session will be classified as a full-time student.

Course Load

In the regular session, unless otherwise approved by the MAT Advisory Committee, the maximum load for a graduate student is 15 semester hours of graduate work per semester. In summer school, it is nine semester hours per summer term.

Statements concerning maximum academic load apply whether a student takes all course work at Louisiana College or simultaneously at Louisiana College and elsewhere.

Attendance Regulations

Class attendance is an essential part of graduate education, and students are expected to attend regularly and punctually all classes and laboratories for which they are registered. Cumulative absences may result in a lowered grade or loss of credit for the course. Tardiness is also subject to penalty. Although some specific requirements may vary according to the nature and structure of the course, the following guidelines summarize institutional policy:

  1. Class attendance is required, and accurate records are kept.
  2. Class attendance is essential to success in the instructional process and students are expected to attend all classes. However, no individual faculty member may establish an attendance policy which penalizes a student for absences related to college sponsored events except in programs which state licensing agencies or national accreditation standards, establish required minimum classroom hours. Absences incurred due to authorized college activities, death in immediate family (father, mother, spouse, child, brother, sister, grandparent), and/or documented personal illness shall not be counted against the student unless the student does not make up missed work within ten school days after returning to class. The faculty member may extend the ten day makeup deadline in extraordinary circumstances. Students are responsible for knowing and following the policy for each course in which they are enrolled.
  3. The calculation of the semester grade, including any penalty for absences, is the responsibility of the faculty member and may vary according to the nature of the course and the grading scale used. In cases where team teaching occurs, the Director of the MAT will record the grade that reflects the assessment results of the involved faculty. In some classes points will be deducted from the semester grade for unexcused absences; in others, the penalty may be built into the grading scale by means of frequent pop quizzes, grades for class participation and the like.
  4. The faculty member will excuse one absence per semester for serious illness, for representing the College, and perhaps for other emergency reasons which the faculty member finds justifiable.
  5. Absences, whether excused or unexcused, will affect the student’s final grade due to the limited number of class meeting dates.
  6. A student registering late will be charged for all absences occurring prior to class, although these may be treated as excused absences.
Auditing

Any change from audit to credit by a student regularly enrolled in the College must be accomplished by the last day for adding a course, and any change from credit to audit must be made by the last day to drop a course without having it appear on the permanent record.

No credit can be given for a class audited, nor is the student permitted an examination for credit. No faculty member is authorized to admit anyone as an auditor to any classes unless the auditor has registered as such.

Change of Schedule (Drop or Add Courses)

After the second full week of classes in a fall or spring term, students will be administratively dropped from those classes for which they are registered but not attending.

Students register for courses according to schedules published on the LC website. Consultation with an advisor is a requirement, and the student must understand that if there is any deviation from the schedule agreed upon with the advisor, full responsibility rests with the student. At a certain point after classes have begun, no courses may be added, and to drop a course students must come to the Office of the Registrar. See the college calendar published in the on-line catalog and schedule for these dates.

Changes in schedule involving either the adding or dropping of a course or changing to another course must be made through the Office of the Registrar. Such changes will not be made without the permission of the Vice President of Academic Affairs. Students will not be allowed to enter a course after the first week of a semester or after the beginning of the second class period of a regular summer term unless special permission is granted by the Vice President for Academic Affairs, in consultation with the Director of the MAT program.

A course that is dropped officially before the end of the Add / Drop period will not be entered on the student’s permanent record. The official drop date for each term is published in the college calendar and class schedule. From the end of the Add / Drop period to the 9th week of the semester, a grade of W will appear on the student’s permanent record. From the 9th week to the 12th week, the students will receive a grade of “WP” if passing at the time of withdrawal and “WF” if failing at the time of withdrawal. A grade of F is given when one simply drops out of a course without following the procedure for dropping it officially.

For any change of schedule that is not originated by a faculty member or administrative official of the College, there is a fee assessed to the student. An increased fee is charged if the change occurs after the last day to add a class. See section on Grading for policy regarding permanent record changes.

Deadlines for Change of Schedule

The first week of the semester is the calendar week in which registration BEGINS.

Regular Semester

Week 1 Both adding and dropping of courses permitted.
After Week 2 and before Week 9 Dropping permitted; grade of W will appear on student’s permanent record.
9th Week to 12th Week Student will receive “WP” if passing at time of withdrawal; “WF” if failing at time of withdrawal.
After Official Drop Date Dropping not permitted; grade of F for courses not completed.
Without following the official withdrawal procedure, a student will receive an automatic grade of F in the course.

Summer Term

Comparable deadlines come much quicker in summer school because of the condensed schedule; see summer registration class schedule for specific dates.

When a student is taking only one course in a summer term and drops it, it is considered a withdrawal from the College and a withdrawal form should be processed through the Registrar’s Office.

Refund of Course Dropped: See financial section for refund policies.

Courses may be dropped by the end of the last day of registration with a full refund. (See college calendar for dates.) After the last day of registration, refunds for classes are issued only if the student resigns from school. Students wishing to withdraw from all classes must officially resign from the college.

Withdrawal from the College

A student who desires to withdraw from graduate study should directly contact the Registrar’s Office for the proper withdrawal procedure. It is necessary for the correct procedure to be followed in order that the student’s record may be properly kept. Failure to properly withdraw from a course will result in a grade of F.

Any claims for refunds of tuition will be based on the date on which the student files with the Registrar’s Office a request for honorable dismissal.

Grades

Course Numbering System

500 - Graduate Level (and Senior Level when 400A)*
600 -700 - Graduate level exclusively

Grading System

The College uses the following grading system for graduate school:

A is reserved for work which is definitely superior in quality.
B is given for work which is consistently good and which manifests sufficient interest, effort, or originality to lift it above average work.
C is given for average work and shows that basic requirements in class assignments have been met. Work at this level or lower is considered unsatisfactory for graduate students.
D earns credit but is below the standard required for graduation.
F indicates failure and, naturally, carries no credit.
W Withdrawal (does not count in student’s academic standing)
WP Withdraw Passing (does not count in student’s academic standing)
WF Withdraw Failing (WF has the same effect on student’s GPA as an “F”)
I If a student is prevented from completing a course by circumstances beyond his control, a grade of “I” may be requested or assigned by the professor.

A student may receive the grade of “I” provided that he or she has attended 75 percent of the total number of class sessions, is passing the course, and is prevented by circumstances beyond his control (illness, family emergency, etc.) from completing all of the course requirements before the last day of the session.

The student must submit a written request asking the instructor to report an “incomplete.” An “incomplete” may not be given merely because a student fails to complete all course requirements on time, nor is it an option that may be elected at the student’s own discretion. It is the student’s responsibility to make specific arrangements with the instructor to complete the course work.

A student who is granted an “incomplete” has until the date set by the instructor to complete the remaining course requirements.

If the requirements are not completed by the deadline, the “incomplete” will automatically become an “F.”

The grade of I affects the grade point average, because it carries no grade points and the course hours are calculated as hours attempted.

Note: The course syllabus outlines the criteria faculty members use in determining a student’s final grade in the course.

Grade Points

A = 4 grade points
B = 3 grade points
C = 2 grade points
D = 1 grade point
No grade points are earned for any other grade.

Grade Point Hours

Grade point hours are those hours for which a student registered and received a letter grade (A, B, C, D, or F). No withdrawals, PR grades or dropped courses are included but the GPA does include F’s.

Grade Point Average (GPA)

One’s grade point average is based on grade point hours at Louisiana College. Courses in which a student earned a grade of D, F, or WF may be repeated and have the prior grade removed from the cumulative GPA. Courses repeated under this policy must be repeated at Louisiana College.

Grade Reports

A record of each student’s grades is kept in the Office of the Registrar, and a report is available to the student at the close of each semester on the LC website.

Final Examinations

Regular examinations are held at the end of each semester. No such examination of a regular class may be held at any other time except that designated by the administration. A student who is deliberately absent from a semester examination without legitimate reason will be given a grade of F on the course.

Grade Correction

To correct a grade recorded in error; a request for correction must be filed with the Office of Registrar before the end of the following semester or term.

The student who questions the accuracy of a grade in a semester grade report should check first with the faculty member of the course. One who then still believes that the grade is inaccurate or unjust may appeal to the Director of the MAT program. The MAT Director will appoint a five-member committee to review any grievances or complaints concerning academic progression through the program, as well as concerns of faculty. This will include working with any student placed on probation due to earning a second “C”. At any time during the articulation process, earning of a “D or F” in any course may be cause for recommendation for immediate dismissal from the program.

Grievance Policy

*Under the grievance policy stated here the MAT faculty is advised to follow procedures that are outlined in the Louisiana College faculty handbook and MAT candidates are advised to follow the procedures outlined in the Louisiana College student handbook which can be accessed at the following URL: http://lacollege.edu/student/handbook.aspx.

If a candidate does not successfully maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA, then the candidate will not be eligible to graduate and will be required to retake courses before obtaining a Master of Arts in Teaching degree from Louisiana College.

The next appeal is to the Vice President of Academic Affairs, who may seek the advice of the Graduate Faculty in resolving the issue. Final appeal rests with the President.

Permanent Record Changes

When the semester is complete and courses and grades have been officially recorded on the permanent transcript, course titles, numbers and departments cannot be changed. Thus, in programs where courses are cross-listed, it is imperative that the preferred course number, title and department be identified when registering for the course or be changed within the enrollment period of any given semester.

Special Examinations

A student who misses a regularly scheduled examination, regardless of the reason, must make arrangements with the professor of that course for makeup of the test. Responsibility for initiating these arrangements rests upon the student.

Academic Standing, Graduate Probation and Academic Suspension

Progress toward a degree is measured both quantitatively and qualitatively - by the number of grade point hours and by the grade point. Grade point average (GPA) is calculated by dividing the number of grade points by the grade point hours.

Academic Suspension

Any student who is suspended for academic reasons has the right of appeal to the MAT Advisory Committee. This committee will consider each case on its merits, taking into account the full academic record, the student’s rate of progress in making up deficiencies, and any special circumstances that might reflect on the student’s ability and readiness to do acceptable graduate work. If a student wishes to register a written appeal, please contact the Director of the MAT program to file an appeal. Earning a grade of F in any graduate course will result in automatic graduate program suspension.

Good Academic Standing

The requirement for remaining in academic good standing as a graduate student at Louisiana College is the same as the requirement for graduation-a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher (a B average) on all grade point hours attempted at Louisiana College. A student whose GPA is less than a 3.00 will be notified.

Special Calculation of End-of- Term Standings

A grade of D will not count on a graduate degree. The course, if a required one, must be repeated; however, the D is still calculated in determining the overall GPA. A student who accumulates a total of six to nine semester hours of C’s or lower, but has a B average, may continue in a degree program only as long as the B average is maintained. If the overall GPA falls below 3.00, the graduate degree status will be terminated.

Transfer Credit

Up to 12 hours of equivalent coursework credit may be transferred toward the MAT when earned from another regionally accredited. The MAT program at Louisiana College does not award credit for experiential learning, advanced placement, or professional certificates. The approval or denial of all credit is determined by the Director of the MAT program.

Candidates who are enrolled in a post baccalaureate certification program will be allowed to continue in the articulation of the course work but will not be allowed to apply the course work to the MAT degree until all requirements for the MAT are satisfied.

Candidates for the MAT will be referred to the committee appointed by the Director to be considered for entry into the MAT. Failure to complete the portal requirements for the master’s degree within the first 21 hours will negate their ability to continue in the full master’s program. These students will continue in the “Non-Degree Seeking” status until acquiring satisfactory admission requirements.

Graduate courses may be transferred from another regionally accredited college or university provided the student has maintained a B average, the courses are appropriate for the student’s program, and are approved by the MAT Advisory Committee. The student should request credit for this work at the time application is made for admission. Transfer credit must fall within the seven-year time limit to be considered.

Students who have credits and or degrees granted by international institutions must have a detailed credential evaluation completed by the service listed in this manual. No transfer credit will be considered without this documentation.

Up to twelve hours are transferrable, therefore, the student must complete 21 semester hours of graduate work at Louisiana College for the 33-hour Master of Arts in Teaching degree.

Once a student has been admitted to the Graduate Study at Louisiana College, he or she may not take graduate courses elsewhere without prior approval of the Director of the MAT program. Approval will not be granted to take graduate courses elsewhere after a student accumulates 18 graduate hours at Louisiana College.

If a standardized test was taken while at another institution, it is the student’s responsibility to see that the School of Education receives a copy of that score.

Programs

    Certificate
    Certification
    Masters

    Courses

      Teacher Education
      Education Graduate Level

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs